MUNDAKA, Spain (Wednesday, Oct. 10, 2007) –The 16 Foster's ASP World Tour surfers who won their Round 1 Billabong Pro Mundaka heats haven't donned a jersey since the first day of the waiting period over a week ago. They won't wear one today either, the Billabong Pro Mundaka is off again.

Two full days of surfing remain to be run before a champion will be crowned. There are five days left in the Billabong Pro Mundaka waiting period and according to contest officials, competition may have to head back to the back-up beach break of Bakio tomorrow. Conditions suitable enough to run competition at the official sit of Mundaka have yet to materialize.

"Overall, it is still looking like an inconsistent week to run heats at Mundaka," Kevin Wallis of said. "While it will have its moments on Thursday and Friday, they'll be pretty short windows with the westerly swell and extreme tides. There should still be plenty of contestable waves at Bakio and the weekend swell does look better"

When competition does recommence, the first heat of the day will be a bye for defending champion Bobby Martinez (USA). Martinez was supposed to meet injury replacement surfer Trent Munro (AUS), but Munro has pulled out of competition citing family reasons.

World No. 1 Mick Fanning (AUS) will face wildcard and local Basque surfer Hodei Collazo (EUK) in Round 3. Reigning and 8X World Champion Kelly Slater (USA) will meet wildcard Tiago Pires (PRT) in Round 3 while World No. 3 Taj Burrow (AUS) draws the final wildcard, Aritz Aranburu (EUK) in Heat 13.

Another call on competition will be made at 8am tomorrow.

Video highlights from Round 2, along with photos, quotes and downloadable audio files from the surfers, are available on and

Heat 1: Bobby Martinez (USA) earns a bye over Trent Munro (AUS)
Heat 2: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. Bernardo Miranda (BRA)
Heat 3: Greg Emslie (ZAF) vs. Phillip Macdonald (AUS)
Heat 4: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Gabe Kling (USA)
Heat 5: Taylor Knox (USA) vs. Dayyan Neve (AUS)
Heat 6: Tom Whitaker (AUS) vs. Victor Ribas (BRA)
Heat 7: Rodrigo Dornelles (BRA) vs. Luke Stedman (AUS)
Heat 8: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Hodei Collazo (EUK)
Heat 9: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Tiago Pires (PRT)
Heat 10: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Josh Kerr (AUS)
Heat 11: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Shaun Cansdell (AUS)
Heat 12: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Neco Padaratz (BRA)
Heat 13: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Aritz Aranburu (EUK)
Heat 14: Ricky Basnett (ZAF) vs. Royden Bryson (ZAF)
Heat 15: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. Luke Munro (AUS)
Heat 16: Michael Campbell (AUS) vs. Leonardo Neves (BRA)

No comments: