MUNDAKA, Spain (Tuesday, Oct. 9 2007) –The Billabong Pro Mundaka, Stop 8 of 10 on the Foster's ASP World Tour, is off again today. Five days remain in the event waiting period with two full days of surfing needed to complete the event. is the official Billabong Pro forecaster.

According to Surfline's Kevin Wallis: "Even smaller surf prevails Tuesday as the NW swell offers just leftovers and mixes with a small, new W swell. We've got a complex low pressure system taking hold in the Atlantic right now, which will continue for the next 3-4 days. This will produce a series of W to WNW swells starting around Wednesday evening (with Wednesday morning looking quite slow) and continuing through early Friday. Another round of WNW to NW swell could then build late Saturday and into Sunday."

When competition does recommence, the first heat of the day will be a bye for defending champion Bobby Martinez (USA). Martinez was supposed to meet injury replacement surfer Trent Munro (AUS), but Munro has pulled out of competition citing family reasons.

World No. 1 Mick Fanning (AUS) will face wildcard and local Basque surfer Hodei Collazo (EUK) in Round 3. Collazo defeated 3X World Champion Andy Irons yesterday. Reigning and 8X World Champion Kelly Slater (USA) will meet wildcard Tiago Pires (PRT) in Round 3 while World No. 3 Taj Burrow (AUS) draws the final wildcard, Aritz Aranburu (EUK) in Heat 13.

Another call on competition will be made at 8am tomorrow.

Video highlights from Round 2, along with photos, quotes and downloadable audio files from the surfers, are available on and

Heat 1: Bobby Martinez (USA) earns a bye over Trent Munro (AUS)
Heat 2: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. Bernardo Miranda (BRA)
Heat 3: Greg Emslie (ZAF) vs. Phillip Macdonald (AUS)
Heat 4: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Gabe Kling (USA)
Heat 5: Taylor Knox (USA) vs. Dayyan Neve (AUS)
Heat 6: Tom Whitaker (AUS) vs. Victor Ribas (BRA)
Heat 7: Rodrigo Dornelles (BRA) vs. Luke Stedman (AUS)
Heat 8: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Hodei Collazo (EUK)
Heat 9: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Tiago Pires (PRT)
Heat 10: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Josh Kerr (AUS)
Heat 11: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Shaun Cansdell (AUS)
Heat 12: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Neco Padaratz (BRA)
Heat 13: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Aritz Aranburu(AUS)
Heat 14: Ricky Basnett (ZAF) vs. Royden Bryson (ZAF)
Heat 15: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. Luke Munro (AUS)
Heat 16: Michael Campbell (AUS) vs. Leonardo Neves (BRA)

No comments: