MANLY, Sydney (Monday, Oct. 8, 2007) – A top international field of wildcard trialists will compete for one coverted spot into the ASP Women's World Tour NAB Beachley Classic, which gets underway with the Oakley Wildcard Trials at Sydney's Manly Beach, today.

Twelve surfers from as far a field as Hawaii, New Zealand and the USA will take to the half to one meter waves on offer at Manly Beach this morning, to clash for the chance to compete against some of the World's Top 17 Women during Round 1 of the main event.

ASP Australasian surfing champion Sally Fitzgibbons, 16, (Aus) features in Heat 1, where she takes on teenage sensation Paige Hareb (NZL) and ASP World Qualifying Series campaigner Leilani Gryde (USA).

Other top names include ASP World Junior Champion Nicola Atherton (AUS) who features in Heat 2, Australian U16 Champion Laura Enever (AUS) who takes on Airini Mason (NZL) and Australian surfing legend Pam Burridge (AUS) in Heat 3, while former WQS ratings leader Karina Petroni looks to be a force in Heat 4.

Five Rounds of competition will be completed, the winner advancing into Round 1 where she will meet 7X ASP World Champion and event namesake Layne Beachley (AUS) as well as World No. 14 Claire Bevilacqua (AUS).

The NAB Beachley Classic Press Conference takes place at 12h30 (local time) at the Manly Contest Site today and will feature reigning 7X ASP World Champion Layne Beachley (Aus), defending NAB Beachley Classic champion Stephanie Gilmore (Aus), World No. 1 Samantha Cornish (Aus) and 2004 World Champion Sofia Mulanovich (Peru).

The waiting period for the NAB Beachley Classic runs from October 9 -14, 2007 and needs just two full days of surfing to be completed.

The NAB Beachley Classic is the richest stop on the ASP Women's World Tour offering US$ 100 000 in prize money, as well as a 20% increase in ASP ratings points.

The event is produced by 7X ASP World Champion Layne Beachley in collaboration with the Association of Surfing Professionals and National Australia Bank.

Heat 1: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS); Paige Hareb (NZL); Leilani Gryde (HAW)
Heat 2: Nicola Atherton (AUS); Tyler Wright (AUS); Elle Black (AUS)
Heat 3: Laura Enver (AUS); Airini Mason (NZL); Pam Burridge (AUS)
Heat 4: Karina Petroni (USA); Jess Hickson (AUS); Sage Erickson (AUS)

No comments: