BANZAI PIPELINE, Hawaii (Tuesday, Dec. 11, 2007) – Round 1 of the Billabong Pipeline Masters, the final event on the 2007 Foster's ASP World Tour, will commence at the famed Banzai Pipeline at 10am today.

The Billabong Pipeline Masters is unique in that 16 "Pipeline specialists," as nominated by ASP Hawaii and the Hawaii Pro Surfer's Union (HPSU), are seeded alongside the Foster's 45 and three event wildcards for a total of 64 surfers instead of the normal 48.

Round 1 of the Billabong Pipeline Masters will feature 12 four-man heats comprised of the Foster's 45, the Pipeline Masters wildcards and injury replacement surfers. From there, the 12 1st place finishers along with the four highest 2nd place finishers will advance straight to Round 4. The remaining eight 2nd place finishers and eight highest 3rd place finishers will negotiate Round 3 and the remaining four 3rd place finishers and the 12 4th place finishers will meet the 16 HPSU seeds in Round 2.

The Billabong Pipeline Masters is the third and final jewel in the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing series and will determine this year's Vans Triple Crown champion. ASP World No. 6 Bede Durbidge (AUS) currently leads the men's Vans Triple Crown of Surfing ratings followed Roy Powers (HAW), Mick Fanning (AUS), Adrian Buchan (AUS) and Makuakai Rothman (HAW). In addition to their share of the $740,000 in prize money, the men's Vans Triple Crown champion will receive a limited edition $25,000 Chevy Colorado truck and a custom $10,000 Nixon watch.

All of the action of this year's Billabong Pipeline Masters can be experienced live at and

Billabong Pro Round 1 Heat Draw
Heat 1: Andy Irons (HAW), Adriano de Souza (BRA), Cory Lopez (USA), Tiago Pires (PRT)
Heat 2: Bobby Martinez (USA), Leonardo Neves (BRA), Greg Emslie (ZAF), Tim Reyes (USA)
Heat 3: Bede Durbidge (AUS), Daniel Wills (AUS), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), Mark Occhilupo (AUS)
Heat 4: Damien Hobgood (USA), Luke Stedman (AUS), Raoni Monteiro (BRA), Gabe Kling (USA)
Heat 5: Mick Fanning (AUS), Phillip MacDonald (AUS), Ricky Basnett (ZAF), Laurie Towner (AUS)
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Royden Bryson (ZAF), Kalani Chapman (HAW)
Heat 7: Taj Burrow (AUS), Bruce Irons (HAW), Chris Ward (USA), T.J Barron (HAW)
Heat 8: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Rodrigo Dornelles (BRA), Neco Padaratz (BRA), Sunny Garcia (HAW)
Heat 9: Tom Whitaker (AUS), Michael Campbell (AUS), Bernardo Miranda (BRA), Michael Lowe (AUS)
Heat 10: Taylor Knox (USA), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Josh Kerr (AUS), Luke Munro (AUS)
Heat 11: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Kai Otton (AUS), Troy Brooks (AUS), Victor Ribas (BRA)
Heat 12: Dean Morrison (AUS), Pancho Sullivan (HAW), Dayyan Neve (AUS), Shaun Cansdell (AUS)

No comments: