BANZAI PIPELINE, Hawaii (Sunday, Dec. 16, 2007) – Small waves and the delayed arrival of forecasted swell has led to the postponement of competition for the Billabong Pipeline Masters today. Organizers are looking forward to an increase in surf expected late today and overnight that will set the stage for the final day tomorrow.

An informal media gathering and photo opportunity with 2007 ASP World Champions Mick Fanning (AUS) and Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) will take place on the beach at Pipeline at 3pm today. Please contact ASP's Melissa Buckley for more information: (949) 279 6194.

The Billabong Pipeline Masters will wrap up the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing for 2007 and determine this year's Series champion. The women's Vans Triple Crown title went to Hawaii's Megan Abubo at the conclusion of the Billabong Pro Maui on Friday.

In addition to $740,000 in prize money, both the men's and women's Vans Triple Crown champions will receive a limited edition $25,000 Chevy Colorado truck. The men's champion will also receive a custom $10,000 Nixon watch.

More info is available on and

Billabong Pipeline Masters Round 4 Match- Ups:
Heat 1: Andy Irons (HAW) vs. TJ Barron (HAW)
Heat 2: CJ Hobgood (USA) vs. Greg Emslie (ZAF)
Heat 3: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Laurie Towner (AUS)
Heat 4: Luke Stedman (AUS) vs. Cory Lopez (USA)
Heat 5: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Ian Walsh (HAW)
Heat 6: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. Phillip MacDonald (AUS)
Heat 7: Dean Morrison (AUS) vs. Josh Kerr (AUS)
Heat 8: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Troy Brooks (AUS)
Heat 9: Pancho Sullivan (HAW) vs. Bernardo Mirando (BRA)
Heat 10: Tom Whitaker (AUS) vs. Dayyan Never (AUS)
Heat 11: Bruce Irons (HAW) vs. Chris Ward (USA)
Heat 12: Kally Slater (USA) vs. Mikala Jones (HAW)
Heat 13: Rodrigo Dornelles (BRA) vs. Neco Padaratz (BRA)
Heat 14: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Gavin Beschen (USA)
Heat 15: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. Gabe Kling (USA)
Heat 16: Kai Otton (AUS) vs. Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)

No comments: