BANZAI PIPELINE, Hawaii (Saturday, Dec. 8, 2007) – The waiting period for the Billabong Pipeline Masters, the final event on the 2007 Foster's ASP World Tour, begins today, Dec. 8th and stretches for 13 days until Dec. 20th. Small and unfavorable conditions at Pipeline this morning have seen the contest called off for the day.

When competition does commence, former 3X ASP World Champion Andy Irons (HAW), who has won the event four out of the past five years, will surf in the first heat. Irons will take on Adriano de Souza (BRA), Cory Lopez (USA) and Tiago Pires (PRT) in Round 1.

Round 1 of the Billabong Pipeline Masters will feature 12 four-man heats comprised of the Foster's 45, the Pipeline Masters wildcards and injury replacement surfers. The 12 1st place finishers along with the four highest 2nd place finishers will advance straight to Round 4. The remaining eight 2nd place finishers and eight highest 3rd place finishers will negotiate Round 3 and the remaining four 3rd place finishers and the 12 4th place finishers will meet 16 "Pipeline specialists," as nominated by ASP Hawaii and the Hawaii Pro Surfer's Union (HPSU), in Round 2.

Another call on competition status will be made tomorrow morning at 7am.

Billabong Pro Round 1 Heat Match-Ups:
Heat 1: Andy Irons (HAW), Adriano de Souza (BRA), Cory Lopez (USA), Tiago Pires (PRT)
Heat 2: Bobby Martinez (USA), Leonardo Neves (BRA), Greg Emslie (ZAF), Tim Reyes (USA)
Heat 3: Bede Durbidge (AUS), Daniel Wills (AUS), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), Mark Occhilupo (AUS)
Heat 4: Damien Hobgood (USA), Luke Stedman (AUS), Raoni Monteiro (BRA), Gabe Kling (USA)
Heat 5: Mick Fanning (AUS), Phillip MacDonald (AUS), Ricky Basnett (ZAF), Laurie Towner (AUS)
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Royden Bryson (ZAF), Kalani Chapman (HAW)
Heat 7: Taj Burrow (AUS), Bruce Irons (HAW), Chris Ward (USA), T.J Barron (HAW)
Heat 8: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Rodrigo Dornelles (BRA), Neco Padaratz (BRA), Sunny Garcia (HAW)
Heat 9: Tom Whitaker (AUS), Michael Campbell (AUS), Bernardo Miranda (BRA), Michael Lowe (AUS)
Heat 10: Taylor Knox (USA), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Josh Kerr (AUS), Luke Munro (AUS)
Heat 11: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Kai Otton (AUS), Troy Brooks (AUS), Victor Ribas (BRA)
Heat 12: Dean Morrison (AUS), Pancho Sullivan (HAW), Dayyan Neve (AUS), Shaun Cansdell (AUS)

No comments: