HOSSEGOR, France (Saturday, Sept. 22, 2007) – No official Quiksilver Pro France competition was held in the six to eight (two-plus metre) waves at La Graviere today, but the Foster's Surf Showdown did the job of delighting the thousands of fans on the beach instead.

Team Hawaii, comprised of Andy Irons and Fred Patacchia overcame Team Australia – Bede Durbidge and Dean Morrison – in the final to pocket the US$4000 prize. Currently sitting in last place on the Foster's Surf Showdown ratings, Hawaii has a lot of ground to make up if they want to win the platinum keg on offer at the end of the year.

"We're counting on the back half, we're going to come back strong," Irons said.

Current Foster's Surf Showdown Ratings
1st - USA - 7092 pts
2nd - Australia - 6624 pts
3rd - Foster's Rookies - 6615 pts
4th - Brasil - 5484 pts
5th - South Africa - 4803 pts
6th - Hawaii - 4644 pts

A call on competition status for the remainder of Round 1 will be made tomorrow morning at 8:00.

Quiksilver Pro France Remaining Round 1 Heat Match-Ups:
Heat 7: Taj Burrow (AUS), Kai Otton (AUS), Mikael Picon (FRA)
Heat 8: Kelly Slater (USA) Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), Aritz Aranburu (ESP)
Heat 9: Mick Fanning (AUS), Michael Campbell (AUS), Marlon Lipke (DEU)
Heat 10: Andy Irons (HAW), Ben Dunn (AUS), Michel Bourrez (PYF)
Heat 11: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Raoni Monteiro (BRA), Neco Padaratz (BRA)
Heat 12: Tom Whitaker (AUS), Leonardo Neves (BRA), Victor Ribas (BRA)
Heat 13: Daniel Wills (AUS), Rodrigo Dornelles (BRA), Michael Lowe (AUS)
Heat 14: Chris Ward (USA), Royden Bryson (ZAF), Shaun Cansdell (AUS)
Heat 15: Bruce Irons (HAW), Phillip MacDonald (AUS), Greg Emslie (ZAF)
Heat 16: C.J. Hobgood (USA), Troy Brooks (AUS), Bernardo Miranda (BRA)

Quiksilver Pro France Round 1 Heat Results:
Heat 1: Dayyan Neve (AUS) 12.50, Josh Kerr (AUS) 11.74, Pancho Sullivan (HAW) 8.40
Heat 2: Ricky Basnett (ZAF) 11.50, Tim Reyes (USA) 11.33, Taylor Knox (USA) 10.46
Heat 3: Bobby Martinez (USA)15.16, Mark Occhilupo (AUS) 14.17, Luke Stedman (AUS) 11.00
Heat 4: Trent Munro (AUS) 15.33, Dean Morrison (AUS) 14.00, Adrian Buchan (AUS) 11.56
Heat 5: Bede Durbidge (AUS), Cory Lopez (USA), Gabe Kling (USA) - Resurf
Heat 6: Luke Munro (AUS) 16.17, Joel Parkinson (AUS) 13.50, Adriano de Souza (BRA) 10.07

No comments: