CORRECTION: South Africa has three surfers left in contention. Josh Redman (ZAF) is the third South African surfer, the press release below is the correct version. Apologies for any inconvenience caused.

SYDNEY, Australia (Sunday, Jan. 6, 2008) – The Boys division of the 2007 edition of the Billabong ASP World Junior Championships will reach completion today with a new ASP World Junior Boys Champion, crowned by sundown.

Excellent 1.5 to 2-meter waves are on offer at Sydney's North Narrabeen beach this morning; the day's action kicking off with the two remaining heats of the Round 1 of the Girls division, before Round 4 of the Boys division gets underway at 08h30 (local time).

Heats 1- 8 of Round 4 of the Boys division will be completed, with the Girls Round 2 and Boys Quarterfinals on standby thereafter.

Statistically the Australians have the strongest chance of capturing the 2007 ASP World Junior title with a total of five surfers still remaining in the competition. South Africa weigh in with three, the USA two, Europe two, Japan one, Hawaii one and Brazil just one surfer still left in contention.

A total field of 48 junior men, 18 junior women plus four wildcards from eight surfing regions feature in this year's Billabong ASP World Junior Championships.

The event will be broadcast live via the internet on

For more information log-on to

The Billabong ASP World Junior Championships are supported by Panasonic, The Association of Surfing Professionals, Von Zipper, The Warringah Shire Council and Surfing NSW.

Billabong World Junior Championship Girls Remaining Round 2 Match-ups:
Heat 5: Bruna Schitz (BRA); Sage Erickson (USA); Nao Omura (JPN)
Heat 6: Airini Mason (NZL); Lee Ann Curren (FRA); Leila Hurst (HAW)

Billabong World Junior Championships Boys Round 4 Match-ups:
Heat 1: Tanner Gudauskas (USA) vs Rudy Palmboom (ZAF)
Heat 2: Tatsuya Fukagawa (JPN) vs Nicolau Von Rupp (DEU)
Heat 3: Tonino Benson (HAW) vs Romain Cloitre (FRA)
Heat 4: Brandon Jackson (ZAF) vs Owen Wright (AUS)
Heat 5: Pablo Paulino (BRA) vs Julian Wilson (AUS)
Heat 6: Jayke Sharpe (AUS) vs Mitchel Coleborn (AUS)
Heat 7: Beau Atchison (AUS) vs Josh Redman (ZAF)
Heat 8: Charles Martin (GLP) vs Chris Waring (USA)

No comments: