North Narrabeen, Australia (Sun. Dec 31, 2006) – As a small swell hits the famed banks of North Narrabeen Beach, organisers have sent out the first heats of the Von Zipper Trials – the forerunner to the Billabong ASP World Junior Championships.

The Von Zipper trials will consists of four, four-man heats, two four-man semi finals and one final with three from the final progressing through to the main event which is scheduled to kick off from tomorrow.

The draw for today will be:

Heat 1: Michael Spencer (AUS); Stephen Walsh (AUS); Moi Meluka (ISR); Jonathon Kelen (ISR)
Heat 2: James Wood (AUS); Luke Cheadle (AUS); Dean Bowen (AUS); Tim Wrench (AUS)
Heat 3: Nick Riley (AUS); Hidetoshi Kinzume (JAP); Owen Wright (AUS); Wayan Rhondi (IND)
Heat 4: Mitch Coleborn (AUS); Tom Rudd (AUS); Brendan Leckie (AUS); Heiari Williams (PYF)

A release outlining the round one draw for the Billabong ASP World Junior Championships will be circulated later today at the completion of the Von Zipper trials.

About the Billabong ASP World Junior Championships

The Billabong ASP (Association of Surfing Professionals) World Junior Championship is the most sought after junior surfing accolade on the planet and is recognised globally as the future of surfing.

Seen as a stepping-stone to elite world tour, the event, now in its eighth year was originally held in Hawaii before relocating to Australia. Finding a home at the historically esteemed North Narrabeen beach in Sydney, it now run's during the first week of January each year.

The prestigious event attracts qualifiers from eight world regions including Australasia, North America, South America, Hawaii, Asia, South Africa, Europe and a specially sanctioned ASP International region.

Each of the representatives has won through grueling regional circuits to earn their place among the top 45 junior men and 18 junior women in the world, a feat in itself. The $US 62,000 ($AUD 80,000) prize purse qualifies the Billabong ASP World Junior Championships as the richest junior surfing event in the history of surfing.

The eventual victors will stand alongside the 2006 elite men's world tour winner Kelly Slater and the eventual women's world champ at the official ASP ceremony in March 2007, crowned as the worlds only true professional junior surfing champions. They will also join an esteemed list of former champions including Three Time World Champion Andy Irons (Haw) and Australian super-star Joel Parkinson.

No comments: