North Narrabeen, Australia (Mon. Jan 1, 2007) – With only a messy one metre swell pushing across the famous location of North Narrabeen Beach in Sydney, Australia, organisers of the Billabong ASP World Junior Championships have opted to call the event off for today.

After waiting for tide and wind conditions to improve throughout the morning Contest Director Luke Egan eventually decided that the waves were not suitable to hold competition and will make the next call tomorrow morning at 7am with the hope of kicking off proceedings at 7.30am sharp.

Despite the lack of cooperation from the weather today the forecast for the waiting period looks promising with a swell increase predicted over the next few days.

Local forecasters are predicting that a three foot swell will hit the area within the next 24 hours and will be coming in from an Easterly direction, which is well suited to the world class Narrabeen arena.

The competition format of both the men's and women's is identical to that of ASP's elite surfing tours – the Foster's ASP World Tour and the ASP Women's World Tour – in that both will begin with three-man first round heats (16 men's heats and eight women's) with heat winners going through to round three and second and third going to round two.

The field will then be whittled down via man-on-man heats with instant elimination for those in second.

Stay tuned to and for all the updates.

Men's Round One Heat Draw

Heat 1: Heitor Pereira (BRA); Casey Brown (HAW); Julian Wilson (AUS)
Heat 2: Damien Fahrenfort (ZAF); Sterling Spencer (USA); Vincent Duvignac (FRA)
Heat 3: Dion Atkinson (AUS); Romain Cloitre (FRA); Heath Joske (AUS)
Heat 4: TJ Barron (HAW); Nobuyuki Osawa (JAP); Reubyn Ash (GBR)
Heat 5: Hank Gaskell (HAW); Shota Nakamura (JPN); Halley Batista (BRA)
Heat 6: Matt Wilkinson (AUS); Klee Strachan (ZAF); Bernardo Martins (BRA)
Heat 7: Ola Eleogram (HAW); Torrey Meister (HAW); Tamarao McComb (PYF)
Heat 8: Adriano de Souza (BRA); Dusty Payne (HAW); Luke Cheadle (AUS)
Heat 9: Jordy Smith (ZAF); Marc Lacomare (FRA); James Wood (AUS)
Heat 10: Sam Page (AUS); Eric Geiselman (USA); Mitch Coleborn (AUS)
Heat 11: Dylan Graves (PRI); Kento Takahashi (JPN); Matias Mulanovich (PER)
Heat 12: Mason Ho (HAW); Shu Hagiwara (JPN); Angelo Lozano (MEX)
Heat 13: Hideyoshi Tanaka (JAP); Pierre-Valentin Laborde (FRA); Laurie Towner (AUS)
Heat 14: Nick Rozsa (USA); Granger Larsen (HAW); Rory Beach (ZAF)
Heat 15: Gavin Gillette (HAW); Thiago Camarao (BRA); Wade Goodall (AUS)
Heat 16: Jean Sebastien Estienne (FRA); Brandon Jackson (ZAF); Adrien Toyon (REU)

Women's Round One Heat Draw

Heat 1: Nikita Robb (ZAF); Marina Werneck (BRA); Nao Amura (JPN)
Heat 2: Erica Hosseini (USA); Arini Mason (NZL); Alize Arnaud (FRA)
Heat 3: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS); Lee Ann Curren (FRA); Sayuri Hashimoto (JPN)
Heat 4: Nicola Atherton (AUS); Jessica Hickson (AUS); Kristie Jones (AUS)
Heat 5: Tammy Lee Smith (ZAF); Pauline Ado (FRA); Leile Hurst (HAW)
Heat 6: Anali Gornez (PER); Sage Erickson (USA); Coco Ho (HAW)

No comments: