North Narrabeen, Australia (Sat. 30, 2006) – Organisers of and competitors in the Billabong ASP World Junior Championships, to be staged from January 1 at North Narrabeen Beach, Sydney, Australia, are brimming with excitement as first inspections of the venue have indicated that the sand banks are in tip-top shape for competition.

North Narrabeen, an iconic location within Australian surfing, is a punchy beach break with world class left and right breaking waves, and due to the opening of the lagoon which sits behind the beach's sand dunes, the banks have been finely tuned and will provide amazing waves when the Von Zipper Trials begin tomorrow morning.

North Narrabeen is one of the planet's most consistent beaches as it needs only the slightest of swells in order to produce quality rides and with a promising forecast adding to the mix, spectators both at the beach and those watching it LIVE on will be treated to some incredible surfing action.

Heading into the week ahead swell charts indicate that one to 1.5 metre (three to four foot) waves will hit the Sydney coast over the next few days with the swell direction and wind direction being perfectly suited to Narrabeen's new streamlined banks.

Contest Director, former Foster's ASP World Tour legend Luke Egan is confident that the event will get off to a flying start.

"I was worried that the bank might have changed during the big swell that hit during the week," said Egan. "But at this stage it all looks positive and not much damage was done if any at all. The forecast looks promising with a nice east swell and favourable wind and that's going to hang around pretty much for the duration of the event. And from all my years of surfing Narrabeen I'd much rather see that than a big southerly buster coming through to wipe us out!"

As to the location's iconic status within Australian surfing, Egan went on to say that Narrabeen has not only shaped the careers of many of the locals it has been a proving ground for many international juniors.

"In many ways Narrabeen has been the home of professional international junior surfing," said Egan. "While there have been a few top tour events here over the years, international junior surfing has been part and parcel of this time and place since the late '70s and many contestants have gone on to have amazing careers after finishing well here."

Tomorrow's Von Zipper Trials will consist of four, four-man heats, two four-man semifinals and one four-man final.

The draw will include eight Australasian series seeds plus two Billabong/ VZ wildcards and six ASP International selections.

Only first and second from the final will make it into round one of the main event of the Billabong ASP World Junior Championships scheduled to kick off on Monday morning (local time).

Egan noted that he will assess conditions first thing tomorrow morning (local time) and will make a call by 8am as to the starting time of the first Von Zipper Trials heat.

"I'll check it out tomorrow morning and will make a call as to the start time," said Egan. "Because we only have a few heats to run I'll pick the time and take advantage of the best tides. Whatever the case it'll be an exciting start and a great event."

The Von Zipper Trialists:

Australasian Seeds:

Mitch Coleborn (Maroochydore)
Owen Wright (Culburra)
Brendan Leckie (Palm Beach QLD)
Tom Rudd (Avalon)
Nick Riley (Fairlight)
Luke Cheadle (Culburra)
Stephen Walsh (Lennox)
Tim Wrench (Ulladulla)

ASP International Selections:

Mor Meluka (Israel)
Jonathon Klien (Israel)
Wayan "Raditya" Rhondi (Bali)
Hedetoshi Kirizume (Japan)
Heiari Williams (Tahiti)

Billabong/VZ Wildcards:

Dean Bowen (Gerroa)
James Wood (Lennox Head)

Complimenting the Billabong ASP World Junior Championships will be Sonic Bloom, a music festival that will feature some of Australia's top music talent.

Stay tuned to or for all the LIVE action plus all media information.

Daily releases, TV new feeds, audio grabs plus transcribed athlete quotes will be available.

Billabong ASP World Junior Championships Honour Roll

1998 Andy Irons (HAW)
1999 Joel Parkinson (AUS)
2000 Pedro Henrique (BRA)
2001 Joel Parkinson (AUS)
2002 Not held
2003 Adriano de Souza (BRA)
2004 Pablo Paulino (BRA)
2005 Kekoa Bacalso (HAW)

2005 Jesse Miley Dyer

No comments: