TEAHUPOO, Tahiti (Friday, May 4th, 2007) – Round 1 of the Billabong Pro Tahiti will kick off today, day one of the 11-day event waiting period, at Teahupoo Reef this morning. Three to five foot (one to one half metre) barrels will house the Foster's ASP World Tour surfers from 8am onwards.

The action will ignite from the very first heat with two former event winners, defending champion Bobby Martinez (USA) and 2001 Billabong Pro Tahiti winner Cory Lopez (USA), going up against Aussie injury replacement Trent Munro. Munro has replaced a recovering Timmy Reyes (USA) in each of the three events on tour so far in 2007.

Due to a last minute withdrawal from rookie Royden Bryson (ZAF) who encountered Visa issues en route to Tahiti, the 48-man draw was reseeded last night. The reshuffling of seeds has set up a scorching Heat 7 battle between 2002 Billabong Pro Tahiti winner Andy Irons (HAW), last year's runner-up Fred Pattachia (HAW) and local specialist and event wildcard Hira Teriinatoofa (PYF).

Logon to and to watch it all LIVE!

Heat 1: Bobby Martinez (USA), Cory Lopez (USA), Trent Munro (AUS)
Heat 2: Bruce Irons (HAW), Josh Kerr (AUS), Victor Ribas (BRA)
Heat 3: Damien Hobgood (USA), Chris Ward (USA), Troy Brooks (AUS)
Heat 4: Tom Whitaker (AUS), Adriano de Souza (BRA), Neco Padaratz (BRA)
Heat 5: Bede Durbidge (AUS), Leonardo Neves (BRA), Gabe Kling (USA)
Heat 6: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Greg Emslie (ZAF), Luke Munro (AUS)
Heat 7: Andy Irons (HAW), Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), Hira Teriinatoofa (PYF)
Heat 8: Kelly Slater (USA), Phillip Macdonald (AUS), Manoa Drollet (PYF)
Heat 9: Mick Fanning (AUS), Raoni Monteiro (BRA), Anthony Walsh (AUS)
Heat 10: Taj Burrow (AUS), Jeremy Flores (FRA), Bruno Santos (BRA)
Heat 11: Daniel Wills (AUS), Pancho Sullivan (HAW), Shaun Cansdell (AUS)
Heat 12: Michael Campbell (AUS), Ricky Basnett (ZAF), Rodrigo Dornelles (BRA)
Heat 13: Ben Dunn (AUS), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Bernardo Miranda (BRA)
Heat 14: Travis Logie (ZAF), Kai Otton (AUS), Dayyan Neve (AUS)
Heat 15: Taylor Knox (USA), Michael Lowe (AUS), Adrian Buchan (AUS)
Heat 16: Dean Morrison (AUS), Luke Stedman (AUS), Mark Occhilupo (AUS)

No comments: