COOLANGATTA, Australia (Tuesday, Mar. 6, 2007) – Round 3 of the Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast presented by Samsung will hit the water this morning at 8am.

The improved conditions and increased swell have prompted event organizers to send the remaining 32 members of the ASP Foster’s 45 out to do battle.

"We have ideal conditions this morning at Snapper Rock," Contest Director Rod Brooks said. "It's about 4 foot with clean offshore winds and the men's Round 3 will hit the water at 8am."

Following the elimination Round 2’s big upsets that sent former three-time Foster’s ASP World Champ Andy Irons (HAW), Fred Patacchia (HAW), Shaun Cansdell (AUS) and former event champion Michael Lowe (AUS) all home early, the race for the ASP ratings lead is on and Round 3 will showcase some of the most dynamic match ups of the event.

Heat 4 will see last year’s Foster’s ASP World Tour rookie of the year Bobby Martinez (USA) do battle against in-form ’07 rookie Kai Otton (AUS) in a goofy-footer showdown, Heat 9 will see reigning and eight-time Foster’s ASP World Champ Kelly Slater (USA) try to avenge his first round loss in a rematch with wildcard Julian Wilson (AUS), and all the local Coolangatta boys will be looking to grab the ASP ratings lead with a big result at the Quiksilver Pro.

The event will be webcast LIVE on www.aspworldtour.com.

For images, video, heat-by-heat notes and audio downloads of all the action thus far, be sure to log onto the Media Center at www.aspworldtour.com.

Round 3 Match Ups
Heat 1: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Leonardo Neves (BRA)
Heat 2: Bruce Irons (HAW) vs. Pancho Sullivan (HAW)
Heat 3: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. Luke Stedman (AUS)
Heat 4: Bobby Martinez (USA) vs. Kai Otton (AUS)
Heat 5: Taylor Knox (USA) vs. Ricky Basnett (ZAF)
Heat 6: Dean Morrison (AUS) vs. Michael Campbell (AUS)
Heat 7: Greg Emslie (ZAF) vs. Adriano de Souza (BRA)
Heat 8: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Julian Wilson (AUS)
Heat 9: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Jake Paterson (AUS)
Heat 10: Daniel Wills (AUS) vs. Chris Ward (USA)
Heat 11: Tom Whitaker (AUS) vs. Josh Kerr (AUS)
Heat 12: Cory Lopez (USA) vs. Jeremy Flores (FRA)
Heat 13: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Trent Munro (AUS)
Heat 14: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 15: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. Ben Dunn (AUS)
Heat 16: Phillip MacDonald (AUS) vs. Raoni Monteiro (BRA)

No comments: