COOLANGATTA, Australia (Thursday, Feb. 9, 2007) – Round 1of the Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast presented by Samsung will begin this morning at 8am in 3 to 4 foot (1 to 1.2 metre) waves at Snapper Rocks.

Following a lengthy deliberation, event organizers and surfers have opted to run Round 1 of the men’s event to ensure that competition gets underway in the best possible conditions.
"We will run Round 1 today and while conditions are onshore, they are better than yesterday," Contest Director Rod Brooks said. "We know the wave face is clean, but there are onshore winds. These conditions are expected to continue for the next three or four days ahead of a tropical cyclone. We're not sure at this stage whether the cyclone will be favorable or unfavorable so we're covering our options by running Round 1 of the men's today."

A slew of dynamic match-ups will comprise the 16 heats of Round 1 including Heat 9 where local indigenous Australian and Trials Winner Dale Richards (AUS) will face off against former Foster’s ASP World Champion Andy Irons (HAW), and Heat 8 where wildcard Julian Wilson (AUS) will do battle with reigning and eight-time Foster’s ASP World Champion Kelly Slater (USA).

Quiksilver Pro Round 1 Match Ups
Heat 1: Dean Morrison (AUS), Pancho Sullivan (HAW), Bernardo Miranda (BRA)
Heat 2: Taylor Knox (USA), Mark Occhilupo (AUS), Gabe Kling (USA)
Heat 3: Tom Whitaker (AUS), Luke Stedman (AUS), Leonardo Neves (BRA)
Heat 4: Damien Hobgood (USA), Michael Lowe (AUS), Kai Otton (AUS)
Heat 5: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Travis Logie (ZAF), Rodrigo Dornelles (BRA)
Heat 6: Bobby Martinez (USA), Shaun Cansdell (AUS), Luke Munro (AUS)
Heat 7: Taj Burrow (AUS), Chris Ward (USA), Trent Munro (AUS)
Heat 8: Kelly Slater (USA), Daniel Wills (AUS), Julian Wilson (AUS)
Heat 9: Andy Irons (HAW), Greg Emslie (ZAF), Dale Richards (AUS)
Heat 10: Mick Fanning (AUS), Adriano de Souza (BRA), Jake Paterson (AUS)
Heat 11: Cory Lopez (USA), Victor Ribas (BRA), Ben Dunn (AUS)
Heat 12: Phillip MacDonald (AUS), Troy Brooks (AUS), Josh Kerr (AUS)
Heat 13: Bruce Irons (HAW), Raoni Monteiro (BRA), Neco Padaratz (BRA)
Heat 14: Bede Durbidge (AUS), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Dayyan Neve (AUS)
Heat 15: C.J. Hobgood (USA), Jeremy Flores (FRA), Royden Bryson (ZAF)
Heat 16: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), Michael Campbell (AUS), Ricky Basnett (ZAF)

No comments: