North Narrabeen, Australia (Thurs. Jan 4, 2007) – After testing the conditions at North Narrabeen Beach personally first thing this morning, Billabong ASP World Junior Championships Contest Director Luke Egan has decided to call the event off for the day and will make the next call tomorrow morning (Fri Jan 5) at 7.30am.

After waves deteriorated yesterday evening to nothing more than a dribble and appearing pretty much the same today, coming in at under the one metre (three foot) mark, it has been decided that waiting for a swell increase due to arrive by tomorrow is the best option.

When competition resumes expect the sparks to fly, as there are numerous exciting matchups amongst the round three draw.

Those to watch include heat eight between Foster's ASP World Tour number 20 Adriano de Souza from Brazil and the pint sized Tamaroa McComb from Tahiti.

In yesterday's draw the 14-year-old McComb caused a major upset in defeating fourth seed Ola Eleogram (HAW).

The youngster, who forever plays in the warm waters off his tropical island home, found the biggest challenge avoiding the "cold" of Australia's summer.

"I just want to do well here," said McComb. "But it is cold, which makes it hard."

Others to watch include the all-Aussie showdown between Julian Wilson and Sam Page in heat 13.

Both are potential future world-beaters who, with a full arsenal of new school aerials will be attacking the North Narrabeen lips with plenty of flair.

Page, who lives not far from Narrabeen at Manly is confident he do the job but he is hoping that there is an increase in swell so he can show his wares.

"I only live down the road at Manly so I know the place well," said Page. "In fact Manly is a lot worse that this on most days so I really enjoy surfing out there and hopefully we'll get some bigger waves as the event unfolds. I'm a bit taller than most guys so a bit of size would be good."

Stay tuned to www.billabongpro.com or www.aspworldtour.com for all updates on the event.

Round Three Heat Draw:

Heat 1: Hank Gaskell (HAW) vs (Rory Beach (ZAF)
Heat 2: Hideyoshi Tanaka (JPN) vs Nobuyuki Osawa (JPN)
Heat 3: Mitch Coleborn (AUS) vs Luke Cheadle (AUS)
Heat 4: Matt Wilkinson (AUS) vs Angelo Lozano (MEX)
Heat 5: Damien Fahrenfort (ZAF) vs Thiago Camaroa (BRA)
Heat 6: Heitor Pereira (BRA) vs Granger Larson (HAW)
Heat 7: Dusty Payne (HAW) vs Marc Lacomare (FRA)
Heat 8: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs Tamaroa McComb (PYF)
Heat 9: Jordy Smith (ZAF) vs Bernardo Martins (BRA)
Heat 10: Jean Sebastien Estienne (FRA) vs Eric Geiselman (USA)
Heat 11: Dion Atkinson (AUS) vs Brandon Jackson (ZAF)
Heat 12: Dylan Graves (PRI) vs Pierre-Valentin Laborde (FRA)
Heat 13: Sam Page (AUS) vs Julian Wilson (AUS)
Heat 14: Gavin Gillette (HAW) vs Torrey Meister (HAW)
Heat 15: TJ Barron (HAW) vs Wade Goodall (AUS)
Heat 16: Mason Ho (HAW) vs Casey Brown (HAW)

Round Three Women's Heat Draw:

Heat 1: Nikita Robb (ZAF) vs Alize Arnaud (FRA)
Heat 2: Anali Gomez (PER) vs Nao Omura (JPN)
Heat 3: Arini Mason (NZK) vs Pauline Ado (FRA)
Heat 4: Steph Gilmore (AUS) vs Sayuri Hashimoto (JPN)
Heat 5:Nicola Atherton (AUS) vs Kirstie Jones (AUS)
Heat 6: Marina Werneck (BRA) vs Lee Ann Curren (FRA)
Heat 7: Sage Ericson (USA) vs Coco Ho (HAW)
Heat 8: Erica Hosseini (USA) vs Leila Hurst (HAW)

No comments: