HOSSEGOR, France (Friday, September 22, 2006) – With swell conditions being somewhat out of control at Hossegor in the south of France, organisers of the Quiksilver Pro presented by Evian have decided to call a lay day for today, Friday September 22.

It was indicated however that tomorrow, Saturday September 23, would play host to either round one of the main event or an expression session featuring many of the top 45 competitors on the Foster’s ASP Men’s World Tour.

Event swell forecasters are insistent that excellent conditions are predicted for the bulk of the tournament’s waiting period so it was an obvious decision to wait until optimum waves are present.

There is much anticipation surrounding round one with the first heat of the day featuring the previous event winner Bede Durbidge (AUS) up against Adriano de Souza (BRA) and Jarrad Howse (AUS).

There is also plent of chatter surrounding Kelly Slater (USA) and the impact that a win here for him would have on the world title race.

If Slater does pull a win out of the bag in the Quiksilver Pro France, he is in prime shooting position for a title wrap up going into the next event at Mundaka which begins on October 3.

Meanwhile Taj Burrow (AUS) and defending event champion Andy Irons (HAW) will be out to thwart Slater's campaign given both are still outside chances of taking the lead.

Both however must win with Slater finishing way back in the field.

The round one draw is as follows:

HEAT 1: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs Jarrad Howse (AUS)
HEAT 2: Tim Reyes (USA) vs Nathan Hedge (AUS) vs Roy Powers (HAW)
HEAT 3: Taylor Knox (USA) vs Luke Stedman (AUS) vs David Weare (ZAF)
HEAT4: Bobby Martinez (USA) vs Fred Patacchia (HAW) Toby Martin (AUS)
HEAT 5: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs Cory Lopez (USA) vs Pedro Henrique (BRA)
HEAT 6: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs Travis Logie (ZAF) vs Yuri Sodre (BRA)
HEAT 7: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs Trent Munro (AUS) vs Adrian Buchan (AUS)
HEAT 8: Kelly Slater (USA) vs Mark Occhilupo (AUS) vs Joan Duru (FRA)
HEAT 9: Andy Irons (HAW) vs Shaun Cansdell (AUS) vs Patrick Bevan (FRA)
HEAT 10: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs Greg Emslie (ZAF) vs Jeremy Flores (FRA)
HEAT 11: Dean Morrison (AUS) vs Chris Ward (USA) vs Mikael Picon (FRA)
HEAT 12: Tom Whitaker (AUS) vs Victor Ribas (BRA) vs Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
HEAT 13: Phil Macdonald (AUS) vs Darren O’Rafferty (AUS) vs Marcelo Nunes (BRA)
HEAT 14: Danny Wills (AUS) vs Pancho Sullivan (HAW) vs Jake Paterson (AUS)
HEAT 15: Bruce Irons (HAW) vs Paulo Moura (BRA) vs Mick Lowe (AUS)
HEAT 16: CJ Hobgood (USA) vs Troy Brooks (AUS) vs Peterson Rosa (BRA)

Quiksilver and ASP will host the LIVE webcast of the event daily on and

Not only will every heat be beamed to the world live, in depth expert commentary from former world champions, highlights replays, special guests and more will make the online spectacle a not to be missed extravaganza!

Surfer’s profiles, stats and man on man matchup stats are also available on

No comments: